get involved

There are so many things you can do to help improve public education in Toronto.

Step 1: The first step is to connect with others like yourself who’re deeply concerned about the state of public education in our city. Sending a rep from your group, agency or organization to our monthly meetings (4th Monday of each month except July and December) is a great way to do that. Or you can browse through our links page and find a member group that most closely fits your perspective and then get in touch with them directly.

Step 2: An important next step is to learn more about current issues. Use our site and the links to get up to date on the key issues, people and debates involved in this ongoing battle.

Step 3: Another good step is to start engaging. Comment on postings, news articles, facebook and twitter postings, leave comments on politicians’ blogs, leave comments on our blog – or even start your own blog!

The most important thing is to speak up and speak out and let those in power know that you’re not going to tolerate any further degradation in our school system. The key points are staying up to date, staying connected, and speaking out. If enough of us do that… we can rebuild public education in Toronto and create the best, well-funded system our kids and our neighbourhoods need and deserve.

Step 4:  Contact your school trustee about the issues you feel are priority in your neighbourhood. Request tht they report on their progress on advancing these issues at the board.  Check the voting record of your trustee on this site.

TCDSB SCHOOL TRUSTEES

View all Trustee contacts:  www.tcdsb.org

TDSB SCHOOL TRUSTEES

Jerry Chadwick,  Scarborough East Ward 22   416-397-3096   jerry.chadwick@tdsb.on.ca

Shaun Chen, Scarborough Rouge River, Ward 21 416-397-3077 shaun.chen@tdsb.on.ca

Soo Wong, Scarborough Agincourt Ward 20   416-397-3066  soo.wong@tdsb.on.ca

David Smith, Scarborough Centre Ward 19   416-397-3104   david.smith4@tdsb.on.ca

Elizabeth Moyer  Scarborough Southwest Ward 18  416-393-8815  elizabeth.moyer@tdsb.on.ca

Michael Coteau, Don Valley East Ward 17   416-397-3086  michael.coteau@tdsb.on.ca

Sheila Cary‐Meagher, Beaches E. York Ward 16   416-395-8413    Sheila.Cary-Meagher@tdsb.on.ca

Cathy Dandy, Toronto Danforth Ward 15    416-397-3083 cathy.dandy@tdsb.on.ca

Shelley Laskin,  St. Paul’s Ward 11  416-397-3094   shelley.laskin@tdsb.on.ca

Maria Rodrigues, Davenport Ward 9   416-397-3069 maria.rodrigues@tdsb.on.ca

Irene Atkinson, Parkdale High Park Ward 7   416-397-3091 irene.atkinson@tdsb.on.ca

Chris Tonks, York South Weston Ward 6    416-397-3098 chris.tonks@tdsb.on.ca

Howard Kaplan, York Centre Ward 5 416.654.7105  howard.kaplan@tdsb.on.ca

Stephnie Payne, York West Ward 4     416-397-2441   stephnie.payne@tdsb.on.ca

Pamela Gough Etobicoke-Lakeshore Ward 3    416-393-1972   pamela.gough@tdsb.on.ca

Chris Glover, Etobicoke Centre Ward 2    416-397-3106   chris.glover@tdsb.on.ca

John Hastings, Etobicoke North Ward 1   416-397-3071 john.hastings@tdsb.on.ca